Using Mendix dashboard to control sensors by using a button

Hi I am currently a student who is doing an IOT project and I am currently facing some problems. I am to get sensor data from thingspeak and be able to read the sensor values in my dashboard created by Mendix and also be able to control the sensors ( such as light sensors to on/off the light and hydro sensors to control the water) from my dashboard.  What I have discovered during my research is that there is this microflow called “ REST api”. I am thinking that in order to read the data from thingspeak to Mendix, it would be better to create an JSON format in Mendix based on the READ api in thingspeak. Hence, I was thinking of doing the same thing for controlling the sensors ( sending a boolean value of 0 or 1 to thingspeak).  The method I am thinking of is by using the “ CALL REST Activity” only to get data from thingspeak and sending data from Mendix to thingspeak. The difference is that I set it to HTTP PUSH and the URL will be the READ API key given in thingspeak. Is this the correct way of doing it?    https://docs.mendix.com/howto/integration/publish-rest-service I also came across this article which talks about sending data outside Mendix but I am not entirely sure what this article is talking about. I sincerely hope that I would get some advices from the professionals so that I will be on the correct track. I am terribly sorry if it is hard to understand my question and thank you for taking your time to read this. I am using Mendix Studio Pro version 8.18.3 if that helps.
asked
3 answers

HI Andy,

In order to get your desired data you need to use the Call Rest activity in your microflow and set it to GET operation. Use this in combination with your read API key from ThingSpeak.

To control your sensor use the Call Rest activity and set it top POST. Use this one in combination with your write API key from ThingSpeak.