How are Active Sessions meant to work?

I have PersistentSessions set to true so that I can see which users are logged in under the Active Sessions menu, and have some questions about how this is meant to work. I have changed the display of the Last Active column in the Active Sessions form to display both Date and Time. Logged in as an administrator I can monitor the records in the Active Sessions form. There is a column called Session ID that shows no data - what is meant to be displayed here? I would expect the Last Active column to show the last time the user was active on the system (created or modified a record or issued a query), but this does not seem to be the case. Instead, this value is updated every 3 minutes (keep-alive?) while the user's browser is open. This keep-alive seems to be the ONLY thing that updates the Last Active value. If the user creates or modifies a record this does NOT update the Last Active time. I was hoping to use the Last Active value to identify users who had been inactive for a long period (like an hour) but had left the browser open, so that I could log them out and release the license. It looks like the Last Active value is no use for this. Is this how it is meant to work, or is this meant to monitor when the user was active on the system? Another administrator menu shows Runtime Instances (plural?) and displays a data grid: Can there be more than one entry in this datagrid? Why is no data shown in the Allowed concurrent users, Partner and Customer columns? This data is present in the license file, but should it also be displayed here? Edit: is anyone able to answer the query about recording last user activity?
asked
3 answers

Hello David,

Good remark with regard to the format of 'Last active', 'DateTime' indeed gives more information than 'Date'. The form was created in a time the 'DateTime' format did not exist yet, so that's why the 'Date' format is still there.