Observations of a Mendix newby - comments requested

I'm still new to Mendix and I just developped (the core of) my first application in Mendix trial (2.5.6). See: https://chielharmsen.trial.mendixcloud.com. This trial was inspired by the Koormuziekbank (www.koormuziekbank.nl). My overall impression: very promissing in its claim for delivering applications without technical nitty gritty. The important pros of this: - much faster delivery - less technical specialties needed within the team - more all-round jobs - very well suited for agile development methods - very well suited to get the proper involvement from the business side. Some serious food for thought: • It seems so easy to design an entity and some forms for it. I hope this easiness will not lead to an underestimation of the effort to design a proper domain model. It seems so tempting to create an entity for the very first noun you encounter in the description of your assignment. But a true choice of which entities, which generalizations and which associations are needed can only be reached after a good understanding of the whole field (universe of discourse). • In Mendix (2.5.6) it is not possible to create validations over more than one attribute. • Neither is it possible to define a validation over associations. • At entity level, there is a field for documentation. There is no documentation field for attributes nor associations. An unexpected shortcoming in the light of “the model = the application”. I support Mendix in its efforts to put as much business knowledge as possible into the model (instead of in the code). I would go one step further: put as much business knowledge as possible into one particular part of the model: the domain model. This requires some important enhancements to Mendix. To be continued. I’m looking forward to your comments.
asked
2 answers