Sorting enumerations

When you have enumerations in multiple languages you want to be able to sort the enumeration based on the language chosen. In the modeller when you do a xpath retrieve like [CountryEnumeration = 'Netherlands'] you will see that when selecting Netherlands the country will be translated accoring to the setting and I see the list sorted. But now the front end. If I log into the application and select the country the sorting is not applied. To the front end user the list is presented not sorted based on the user language. How can I achieve the same as in the modeller? It is strange to me that as a programmer I get to see the sorted list based on my language setting but the user of the program will see a different list while having the same language setting as the programmer. Regards, Ronald [EDIT] Here is a screenshot of when I work as modeller.
asked
3 answers

Interestingly, I ran into exactly the same problem last week. I fixed it in the following way:

• Create a non-persistent entity with a string attribute and an association to the object containing the enumeration on which to sort (in my case these were reasons to populate a drop down)
  • Retrieve the relevant reasons
  • Loop over the reasons, create a non-persistent entity, use getCaption() to populate the string of the non-persistent entity and pointing the association to the reason and add it to a list
  • Use a sort action on the list of non-persistent entities, sorting on the string attribute
  • Loop over the now sorted non-persistent entities, retrieve the associated object and put it in a new list
  • Return the sorted output list

Example

It's terribly inefficient, but a discussion on my company Sprintr hasn't resulted in a better solution yet. I'm still interested in a better solution though.

answered