Comparing ONLY times in the DateTime variables

Hi all, I am still new to mendix and currently I am trying to compare a time variable between two other time values. Here is what I put as my check expression. parseInteger(formatTime($Appointment/ApptTime)) >= parseInteger(formatTime($IteratorCalendarEvent/StartDate)) and parseInteger(formatTime($Appointment/ApptTime)) <= parseInteger(formatTime($IteratorCalendarEvent/EndDate)) I tried different ways of trying to compare the times like 9:30 am > 1:00 PM. However, I have no clue to get that. I know the above expression gives me an error because I cannot turn "9:30 AM" to an integer or float but I am not sure what else I could do to get the result I want. I am not sure what other functions I could use to get what I need, I tried most....Any advice? Thanks
asked
4 answers

Michael,

If you want to compare only the time part of the date variables then reduce the variables to minutes. create 2 variables for the minutes by: parseInteger(formatDateTime($Appointment/ApptTime, 'HH'))* 60+parseInteger(formatDateTime($Appointment/ApptTime, 'mm') With the statement above you'll get the hours from $Appointment/ApptTime, multiplied with 60 and add the minutes of $Appointment/ApptTime to get the minutes from the start of the date. Do the same thing for the other variable and then compare the two.

answered

I think you can use the formatDateTime function to output the time part in a format that is suitable for textual comparison. Note: untested code ahead.

formatDateTime($Appointment/ApptTime, 'HH:mm') >= 
formatDateTime($IteratorCalendarEvent/StartDate) and
formatDateTime($Appointment/ApptTime, 'HH:mm') 
formatDateTime($IteratorCalendarEvent/EndDate)