One-to-many associations using an extra table?

https://gettingstarted.mendixcloud.com/link/module/49/lecture/380 I’m new to Mendix but I have a lot of experience with relational database applications. In this lecture it shows that the one-to-many OrderLine_Order association is stored as an extra join table, so there are three tables OrderLine, OrderLine_Order and Order. This is not how I would expect the database to be modeled – in a relational database a one-to-many relationship would just have a foreign key in the OrderLine table that references the primary key in the Order table and a join table would only be added when you have a many-to-many relationship. Is the lecture incorrect and if not then can someone explain why Mendix uses a join table when it is not necessary and does this not create performance issues when an entity has many relationships?
asked
5 answers

The association tables were indeed introduced to provide flexibility (agility) when modelling. It makes it easier and faster to migrate your database when changing a relationship from 1-1 to 1-N.

Using tables to store association keys is not uncommon. One example is the Data Vault modelling technique which also stores associations in so called link tables. In this case it's done to be able to keep all historical data, even if relationships change.

Many design/architecture decisions in Mendix are based on the fact that we hear from our customers that they value development ease, speed and agility more than ultimate performance. Performance impact can often be compensated with larger/bigger infrastructure.

Having said that, we understand that performance is an important aspect of software, and query performance is one of the aspects we are constantly investing in. Reducing impact of associations tables is part of this.

answered

The lecture is correct, all relations between tables are stored in join tables.

This true for 1 to 1, 1 to many and many to many relations.