Where do I begin?

Hi,   I am a self taught delphi programmer in the Netherlands with  classic small animal practice software on the market. I work as a vet in an animal shelter in amsterdam where we are reviewing our options concerning automation. We have our customers in Microsoft CRM and our animals in an old school client server application written in Java. The latter can connect to the former. The  java application greatly inhibits out ambitions for automating the workfloor when working with animals. Ideally we would like to build software on the existing database with the prospect of eventually replacing the java product all together. Also we would like to use tablets and phones. Would mendix be an options to achieve our goals? I am very learn by use oriented and I would like to be able to start making small simple solutions for existing problems as soon as possible. For that I would immedeately face advanced problems like creating a database in mendix but combining the data with the animal sql database and the crm customer database. What would be the fastest way to achieve my goals? Should I be looking for training days? Where? Should I do the online training and ask whatever comes up here? I found a thrre day course for Eur 1800 but I am afraid that is a bit much for our animal shelter.   Hans Heinrtz
asked
3 answers

Hi Hans,

Great to hear you are looking into Mendix and I think it fits your goals very well, as it allows for rapid development of applications. Rgarding training I would recommend that you start with the mendix introductory online tutorial that you can find here: https://developers.mendix.com/training/#theCourses
You have access to all the videos and they a good job of covering the basics, meaning at the end you will be able to start building your application.