using Queue for processing large tables

Hello All, I am fairly new to queues. Now I am trying to implement to implement Queue app (https://appstore.home.mendix.com/link/app/106628). I have followed the instructions and managed to create the jobs, add them to the queues and have them executed.  However I am wondering whether I implemented it correctly for my use case. I have a large table withe objects (500.000+). And I want to do something with those objects on a certain time every day. To not run into memory problems I want to process them using queues in which I process 1000 objects at a time. I created an extra Entity (1 to 1 relation) with the Job where I store the Offset and the number to process. When the job is executed the table will be queried and the objects are processed. I tried this in a sample project with a static table and it worked. However I am not sure if this is the correct way. What if during execution the a record is added to the table for instance? I don’t think that I have a guarantee the all the records in the table are processed. So my question to you all. How should this be implemented?    
asked
1 answers

You could create a DateTime attribute(LastProcessed) in the Entity you are going to process.

In your processing microflow at the start you create a DateTime Variable (ProcessStarted) with the value of ‘CurrentDateTime’.

Then in your retrieve of objects to process you set the offset to 0 and the Amount to 1000. your XPath should be set to [LastProcessed != $ProcessStarted]

Create a list to commit the changed (processed) objects.

When iterating over the list you change each objects Attribute ‘LastProcessed’ and you set the DateTime Variable you created in your first action in your microflow.