Setting a default Attribute value of an entity

Hello there, I'm new to Mendix and doing some experimentation with my first Application - a simple HelpDesk Request management system. The idea being that a user opens a page to create a new request.  Fills out some data - username, phone number etc. and a new request is created.  So far so good.  Aside from storing details of the Request in various tables, I also have a table which stores the possible Status a request may have - New, In Progress, Completed and so on.  Obviously, I want new logged Requests to be created with the Status of New. I couldn't find a way to set the Entity Selector to do this for me by default, to avoid the user from having to select the New option.  Is this true - can this not be done via the form directly? Next I tried creating a Microflow, to override the standard Save button on the form.  On the form is an invisible Entity Selector for the RequestStatus So my actions are: Retrieve RequestStatus from the form via the Association (a null value at this stage, as the user hasn't selected a value) Change Object - update RequestStatus(StatusName) to 'New' Commit the new Request Object to the database Close the form   The Microflow fails at runtime with the error: com.mendix.modules.microflowengine.MicroflowException: requirement failed: Change object 'RequestStatus' should not be null at RequestManagement.SaveNewRequest (Change : 'Change 'RequestStatus' (StatusName)')   So I seem to be stuck, as I can't seem to update the Status without it being set first, which is exactly what I was hoping I would be able to do from the form! It seems like such a simple thing and I'm sure there are lots of ways to achieve this. Any ideas for me? Many thanks, David.    
asked
4 answers