Assigning UserRole through Microflow on Register process?

Hi there my fellow Mendixers! I’m quite new in Mendix, but I’m loving it. I’ve done some of the beginner and rapid course, but am stuck at understanding one of the things that may be fundamental in the Standard Mendix Security process. Here’s what I did: I have created Registration pages for two different types of users for my application - Customer and Business Owner. Upon registration I am using microflows to save the data (FirstName, LastName, Email, Password) to the database after they successfully register. Now I am trying to use a log-in page with the Mendix Authentication ‘Sign In’  Widget - and if I understood correctly - this widget uses User-Roles to check the authentication for the log in. I have indeed created the required User-Roles in my security setup of course, but I am not sure how to add them to the newly registered users.   My questions: I want to use the registration microflows that I already have and simply add logic to it which assigns an existing user-role to the newly registered user so that I can use that to compare with when they try to log in. It has to happen automatically under the hood upon successful registration as there is no Administrator who will be doing this for the users afterwards. Is there a way to do this directly in the microflow? Another thing I wonder is whether the “Sign In Authentication Widget” can be used without using the provided Account Entity? I’ve read that this entity is involved everywhere in the authentication process using user-roles. Are they dependencies of each other? If so, could someone explain how they are related?   Hopefully someone can push me in the right direction so that I can move on my with my awesome application idea. Cheers!
asked
4 answers

With regards to your first question, yes, that is possible. The approach might be a bit unfamiliar for the average developer but once I explain it, it will make sense.