User- Role concept in Mendix

Good day, Mendix Experts,   I'm new to Mendix and am having a lot of trouble understanding user-role management.  Why do each module's security options exist? and what distinguishes them? What exactly are a user and an account entity? Could someone please provide me an example to help me grasp security?   Thanks,  
asked
3 answers

A user role defines the user's rights and access for the whole application, while a module role defines what a user can do and access in a specific module. User roles (on app level) can be assigned module roles, so that users have specific access to a specific module.

For example, a user role ‘Manager’ that has the module role ‘Approver’ in module X makes that app users with the ‘Manager’ user role only have access to the stuff (objects, pages, microflows, etc.) that are assigned to that module role in module X. If the user role ‘Manager’ has no module roles in module Y, users with the ‘Manager’ user role don't have any access to anything in module Y.

This way you can really fine-grain your role based access control throughout your whole application.

answered

Hi Anju,

The module roles ensure that modules are, well, modular. Because you can import and export modules between different Mendix apps you cannot use the project roles to assign security. You can assign project roles with module roles to more easily transfer security rules between Mendix applications. Project roles are stored in the UserRole entity in the System module. A User is another System entity which handles all authentication and access rights management with those UserRoles.