Populating form with data

Dear Mendix Team,   I am new to Mendix. I am posting here my business requirement and requesting your guidance in completing this.   We will have a entity with data as like below. This entity will be used to create the forms.      Users will open the below form and enter the data as "IOS10001" in column "IOSTagNo", then after that we should fill the remaining fields data from the above base entity. We have used "onChange" action on "IOSTagNo" column and able to fill the data for columns "TagDesc, Area and Complex" data using a microflow.    Now our requirement is when user enter the data as "IOS10001" in column "IOSTagNo" then we should be able to fill the form table with "AlternativeSafeguards" and "FurtherAction" columns data from above base entity.      Could you please let me know how we can fill the table with the above columns in Mendix?. Thank you for your time and efforts.    Thanks, Satish.
asked
1 answers

At first: I notice you think in concepts of forms. Within Mendix we talk about pages. And pages != forms in the technical sense.

Mendix uses objects in their pages to do something with data. Which could be show the data, manipulate the date, trigger some app logic etc.

A form can be seen as a interface with data, which is decoupled from the database.

Within Mendix objects are the link between your database and your front end (pages) in pages you are still dealing with objects. not with data in JSON/XML format which you need to map to objects (server) and records (database) .... please note Mendix also uses JSON in their server client communication. But is not what you do yourself and consider when modeling. Objects are the concept.

So why above? Because depending on your Business needs I can answer your question differently, making use of above.

Two scenarios I can think of:

1. Look up data record from the database and use THAT record as object