how can i send a alert or notification message in mendix

how can i send a alert or notification message in mendix suppose in library management system suppose i login as a member(for member user role) how can i see the books that i have i requested has been accepted how can i a message that request is approved ...and how can the librarian send a alert message for the overdue books please explain me in little detail as i am a beginner in mendix   
asked
1 answers

Hello Adrija Chakraborty,

To implement alert or notification messages in Mendix, especially for scenarios like a library management system, you'll typically utilize a combination of microflows, entities, and pages.

For the first scenario, where a member wants to receive a notification when their book request is approved, you can follow these steps:

1. Create an entity to store book requests, including fields for member ID, book ID, request status, etc.
  2. Implement a microflow that checks for approved book requests for the logged-in member. This microflow can run periodically or triggered by certain events, such as a request status update.
  3. If a book request is approved, send a notification message to the member. This notification message can be displayed on a dedicated page or sent via email or push notification. You can refer to the Mendix documentation on local notifications for implementing Local notifications: Local Notifications.

For the second scenario, where the librarian needs to send alert messages for overdue books:

1. Create an entity to store book loans, including fields for member ID, book ID, loan date, due date, etc.
  2. Implement a microflow that checks for overdue book loans. This microflow can run periodically or triggered by certain events, such as a scheduled job or a user action.