How to update attribute values inside a pluggable widget?

Hi Mendix experts! I'm new at building custom pluggable widgets. I'm building a widget that adds GoogleAutocomplete on address form fields. All works fine now, am getting the dropdown suggestions to choose from and executing code within the widget when an address is selected. I am passing in the attributes of the address as properties (the different fields to match with the results). What I want is to have the remaining address fields update with the new values when they are changed in the widget, so that they populate the empty fields.   So far I've tried lots of different property types and combinations, but even though I see the resulting fields updated within the widget, the original attributes don't reflect the change.   Is there a way to either a) update the values from within the widget? or b) somehow export the data returned from GooglePlaces so I can do the update in a nanoflow?   Many thanks in advance for any assistance.
asked
3 answers

Hi Mignonne,

If I understand you in the right way, Here are some insights that may help you:

Option A: Update Values Within the Widget

1. Define Properties: Ensure that you have defined properties for each address field in your widget. These properties should correspond to the fields you want to update.

2. Bind Properties to Input Fields: Bind each property to the corresponding input field in your widget. This allows the widget to track changes in these fields.

3. Use Event Listeners: In your widget code, use event listeners (such as onInput or onChange depending on your widget type) to detect when the user changes the values in the GoogleAutocomplete field.

4. Update Other Fields: Within the event listener, update the values of the other address fields based on the changes in the GoogleAutocomplete field.

javascriptCopy code