Fundemental questions about associations

Hi,   I'm new to Mendix and I have some difficulties to understand the meaning of associations in Mendix. I hope someone of you can explain them to me. (To simplify the reference I added some numbering to my questions.)   Let's start with the example of two entities Customer and Address. Each Customer can have several Addresses (shipping and billing address), but each Address is associated with exactly one Customer. So we have a 1 to many association: Customer (name: String) 1 - * Address (type: Enum, address: String) Let's assume we have a two Customers and each of them has 2 Addresses stored. In any classical relational database, I would use the Customer-ID and store it as an attribute in the Address table, to know exactly which Address belongs to which Customer. But I understood from the rapid developer learning path, it's not the intended way of modeling in Mendix.   1) How does Mendix know which address belongs to which customer, when there isn't any attribute containing this mapping?   In the Crash Course Chapter 9.7.1 there are the entities Department and Employee with a 1 - * association. I.e., Each Employee is assigned to exactly one Department, but each Department may have several Employees assigned. Then a second * - * associations is defined between Employee and Department. Before each Employee was assigned to exactly one Department. But now there is a second association telling each Employee can be assigned to several Departments. This is a conflict to me.   2) How can it be allowed to have two contradicting associations defined?   The chapter says the second association would be required for the XPath, that is defined later in the chapter. My best guess is, I must read the XPath backwards to understand it's meaning. [UserManager.Employee_Department/UserManager.Department/UserManager.Employee_Department_Security/UserManager.Employee/UserManager.Employee_Account='[%CurrentUser%]'] I read it the following: The use